Of Rioters & Royals – Review

Of Rioters and Royals

Author: M.L. Greye
Series: Swift Shadows #1
Genre: YA Fantasy
Source: I was lucky enough to receive a free copy of the eBook from the author in exchange for an honest review

Pre-Reading Thoughts

When the author approached me for an honest review and pitched me her book, I was intrigued right away. The premise of the book was so interesting. I also appreciate the alliteration in the title! Upon reading the blurb description, it gave me The Selection meets The Hunger Games vibes – i loved both those series so i was interested in reading this. I was ready for major royal court drama and epic challenges!

My Thoughts (Post-Reading)

This book was a wild journey from the first page – you never knew where it was going to take you! I appreciate that the author gives you a little history lesson at the beginning of the book to establish the foundation for the story and provides contextual background to the characters – while it is a little confusing and tedious at first, it is needed to understand the story. The story is a bit slow at the beginning but once the foundation has been laid, it picks up speed and always kept you on the edge of your seat guessing!

Something that sets this book apart from other YA fantasy novels is the magical aspect of the characters, mainly their eyes. I, personally, have never seen this in any other book. The colour of each character’s eyes represents what powers they have.

The characters are truly able to hold their own – they are special in their own right. You discover more about each character as the book goes on (the minor characters are just as interesting as the major ones!). Emry is a strong female lead, a wild spirit barely contained within the confines of her title as a princess. Declan is a tenacious and determined young man that must come to blows with his own preconceived notions and plans. Emry and Declan, are truly in a league of their own. Their rapport is very cute and captivating, their history unexpected but you fall in love with them as the novel progresses and you see them fight their respective battles.

I was right when I said the book gave me The Selection meets The Hunger Games vibes! The trials to become the Princess’ Knight is truly riveting. I can’t say much more than that without giving major plot points away – you’ll need to read it to find out! (Definitely give this book a go if you enjoy the aforementioned series)

This book keeps you on your toes weaving the fantasy, adventure and romance aspects together seamlessly. I look forward to seeing where this series goes!


Rating

4

I liked this book and while it had a few flaws, it didn’t stop me from enjoying it, would probably read again!


|| throne of books ||

3 thoughts on “Of Rioters & Royals – Review

Leave a comment